Duplicating Prolific Studies

Hi!

I am trying to set up multiple studies on Prolific, each with the same settings and demographics, but each linked to a different survey form (using Google Forms). I decided to try the ‘duplicate’ functionality on my draft study because I want the same settings for all my Proilfic studies. I then added the URL links to each Google Form manually. I noticed, however, that the completion URL that was given for each duplicated Prolific study is exactly the same as the original from which I made duplicates. Will this be a problem when participants complete the surveys? I am worried that the URL will always link back to the first study as opposed to the duplicates.

I hope my question makes sense :slight_smile:
Thanks for any help in advance!

1 Like

Hey @Isabelle_Mohr, welcome to the community :tada:

The ‘duplicate’ functionality is primarily for researchers who’d like to store all of their data in one dataset in Prolific. As long as you’ve changed the URL, participants will be redirected to those new studies, but, if the completion code is the same, the data will be stored together under one study on the Platform.

To store the data separately, you’ll have to create a new study to get a new completion code.

We realise that this is not ideal, so we’re working on improving that functionality :slight_smile:

1 Like

Oh, thanks for the info @Josh ! That makes a lot of sense and may actually work really well for my setup. Then I guess I just have one more question relating to this.

If my original study only accepts 3 participants, and I make duplicates of this study where each duplicate also allows a further 3 participants, will the completion code interfere with this at all? I am worried that perhaps the completion code will only allow 3 participants in total to submit responses. If I have 10 studies, each allowing 3 participants, it would be impractical if the submissions were limited to 3 because of the completion link.

Thanks for your help :slight_smile:

1 Like

Don’t worry, it won’t. The completion code isn’t tied to your participant quota. It can take as much data as you’d like :slight_smile:

1 Like